Projectiles & Baddies - Implimented (!tested)

Making a game with Edward? make a Work In Progress thread here to show it off, and maybe even get some of that feedback thing! (forum is now locked)

Projectiles & Baddies - Implimented (!tested)

Postby MakotoNinja » Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:01 am

Aloha everyone,
I am new to this board and I would like to say hello as well as how awesome it is of you Sophie to have generated and give away this engine AND providing a community for it as well. Long story short, i was looking for a game engine of sorts to allow me to do more game making rather than programming and I found this engine/community after quite a long search through many flash engines including pushbutton (a bit over my head at the moment), citrus (not available - and costs $). I am new to AS3 which was/is a bit intimidating, though I managed to port some AS2 scripts from Philip Radvan's site http://www.freeactionscript.com for projectile weapons and particle splatters.
It seems I have successfully given the hero the ability to shoot projectiles that will collide with any/some/all of the level items as well as introduced some very basic enemy AI that when the game starts will travel vertically down the screen until they hit a platform to which they will travel left to right detecting the edge of their platform and turn to go back the other way. I plan to have the AI shoot at the hero as well and of course have contact damage.
http://iloveninja.com/games/ed_ninja.html
(point and click to fire weapon)

Anyways, thanks again Sophie for providing all of this and I hope you continue to work on this project.
MakotoNinja
Player

Re: Projectiles & Baddies - Implimented (!tested)

Postby SophieH » Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:11 am

hey now, thats really cool!

I see you even have the projectiles hitting the slopes at the right spot, a very impressive implementation indeed, especially for someone new to AS3.
SophieH
Site Admin

Postby MakotoNinja » Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:21 pm